Bride & Prejudice!

brideandprejudiceAs you may recall, this is the 200th anniversary of Pride & Prejudice and I’m participating in a year round challenge hosted by Austenprose.

For March, I watched Bride & Prejudice. This movie has been on my must see list since it was released. I can’t believe this was the first time I’ve actually seen it. I’m such a fan of Bend it Like Beckham that I knew I’d want to see everything from this director.

Bride & Prejudice takes the classic Jane Austen story and updated to modern day India. Lalita (the Elizabeth character) is attending a friend’s engagement party when she first meets her Mr. Darcy. He’s an American businessmess looking to open a hotel in India as the one he’s staying in is not up to snuff.

This movie excellently showcases all the major themes from the original novel with a new emphasis on classism. Mr. Darcy as a wealthy American considers his way of life superior than those in India because of his wealth and amenities. It leads to this interesting ourburst from Lalita which I loved.

brideandprejudiceindia

I found the movie plot to be quite realistic. However, I didn’t really find Mr. Darcy very enticing. I’m not sure what Lalita really saw in him but I’m still glad they found each other. The one aspect of this movie that made it different then all other adaptations is the fact that it’s a BOLLYWOOD movie which means music and dancing!!

brideandprejudicedancing

Previous challenge entries: 1 / 2

Are you taking the Pride & Prejudice challenge? What are you reading at the moment? Have you seen Bride & Prejudice? Do you love it?

Add me on Goodreads!

Penny for your thoughts...

