Happy Birthday Pride & Prejudice!

Today’s marks the 200th anniversary of Pride & Prejudice! Do you think that our dear Ms. Austen had any idea that we’d be reading her works so many years in the future? It almost seems as though she’s had a renaissance over the past few years. Starting really (in my opinion) with Bridget Jones’s Diary which reminded everyone about Pride & Prejudice and the mini series it inspired. I know this might be sacrilege to some but I prefer the 2005 film because Colin Firth’s Mr. Darcy actually makes me nervous.

 {This moment of flirtation is everything.}

I think I was first really made aware of Pride & Prejudice in the Meg Ryan / Tom Hanks film, You’ve Got Mail. It was Kathleen’s (Meg Ryan) favourite book and she described Elizabeth Bennet as, well I’ll let her tell you.

Actually, now I really want to watch that movie! I do love Elizabeth more than Mr. Darcy. She’s such a modern woman. If you would take her exact words and characteristics from 200 years ago, she would still be considered modern and relevant today. Casee did a great post today on how amazing Elizabeth is which sums up my thoughts perfectly.

pride-prejudice-bicentenary-challenge-2013-x-200If you’re looking to celebrate 200 years of Pride & Prejudice, please join me with this Bicentary Challenge hosted at Austenprose. I came across it a couple of weeks back and it sounds like so much fun. I’m going whole hog and signing up for the Aficionada challenge (9-12 selections). I’m actually hoping to focus more on new items as opposed to re-reads although there are a few of those. I’m so excited to read Bridget Jones’s Diary again, I can’t even tell you.

January: The Jane Austen Marriage Manual – Kim Izzo (book)
February: Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding (book)
March: Bride & Prejudice (film)
April: Pride & Prejudice – Jane Austen (book)
May: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife – Linda Berdoll (book)
June: Pride & Prejudice (2005 film) (I love this movie so much I’m sure I’ll watch it more than once.
July: Mr. Darcy Broke My Heart – Beth Pattillo (book)
August: Lost in Austen (miniseries)
September: Midnight in Austenland – Shannon Hale (book)
October: TBD
November: TBD
December: TBD

Since there are always so many new Austen adaptations I didn’t want to set anything in stone so early on. I’ll update my list as more ideas come in. If you have anything you’d recommend, please let me know!

Are you a Pride & Prejudice fan? What do you love about it?

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Pride & Prejudice!

  1. Pingback: Pretty Reads: Jane Austen Marriage Manual by Kim Izzo | Pretty Little Pink Things

  2. Pingback: Pretty Reads: Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding | Pretty Little Pink Things

  3. Pingback: Bride & Prejudice! | Pretty Little Pink Things

Penny for your thoughts...

