What I’m Going to Miss About My Neighbourhood: #5 St. Boniface Library

Hi all!

Did you know that October is library month? It’s true!

5. St. Boniface Library

{St. Boniface Library}

The St. Boniface Library is now one of my all time favourite libraries right up there with the Banff Park Library. I like them both for the same reasons. They have a great selection but you’re only exposed to a small amount of it at a time. Because of the smaller selections, I find that I’m more likely to try something new rather than the same type of books I generally go for.

For those who aren’t familiar with St. Boniface, it’s a large french speaking community within Winnipeg, Canada. Its library, (the one picture above), holds books that are primarily French. I would estimate that about 90% of the libraries books are French. The English books take about 3 or 4 rows as well as some racks of paperbacks. Of course, because it’s part of the Winnipeg public library system, I was able to order English books and pick them up there. However, sometimes you just need to browse you know?

At this library, I took a chance on books and authors I honestly wouldn’t have picked up at larger libraries. That’s the benefit of smaller libraries and sometimes fewer options.

Check out the rest of this series: 10/9/8/7/6.

What do you love about your neighbourhood?

3 thoughts on “What I’m Going to Miss About My Neighbourhood: #5 St. Boniface Library

  1. Pingback: What I’m Going to Miss About My Neighbourhood: #4 Elm Tree Canopies | Pretty Little Pink Things

Penny for your thoughts...

