What I’m Going to Miss About My Neighbourhood: #10 The Flute Guy

Hi all!

On Friday, I signed the official papers making me the owner of my condo! Very exciting and a little bit scary. There’s just so much to do I’m starting to feel a bit overwhelmed with it all. Even though I wanted to move across the city to be closer to work meetings and my friends, I have to admit that the move is bittersweet. I’ve really loved living in Old St. Boniface and there are a lot of things I’m going to miss about St. B. Who knows? Maybe my next home will see be back in Winnipeg’s French Quarter.

I’ve already mentally started a list of all the places and things I have to do before I leave the neighbourhood. Listen to me, it’s like I’m moving abroad. lol. Over the next couple of weeks, I thought I’d share with you my favourite bits of my current corner of the world.

10. The Flute Guy

Picture this: It’s a few minutes before 8 am and you’re in that perfect barely awake stage. You’re alert enough to know you’re awake but you still need your alarm on. As you lay there with your eyes closed, you hear a few sweet notes that could only have come from a flute. You’re a bit confused by the whole thing so you pull yourself up and look out the window to see the pied piper. He’s not there.

Ok. So I’m not sure when I first heard The Flute Guy but it’s definitely spanned two summers. Nearly every weekday morning, The Flute Guy walks down my street playing on his flute. It is so gentle and beautiful. It reminds me of being in Europe and hearing the musicians playing the flute on the street – perfection. He sometimes plays on the way home as well. I have only caught the back of him once but honestly, I like how he’s still an enigma.

Of course, in my mind I picture him as Tewt from The Mighty Hercules. That might sound ridiculous, but I have yet to be  proven wrong.

I will definitely miss waking up to the sounds of  The Flute Guy.

What do you love about your neighbourhood? Do you have any wandering flutists?

6 thoughts on “What I’m Going to Miss About My Neighbourhood: #10 The Flute Guy

  1. Pingback: What I’m Going to Miss About My Neighbourhood: #9 Fireworks! | Pretty Little Pink Things

  2. Pingback: What I’m Going to Miss About My Neighbourhood: #8 Le Garage Cafe! | Pretty Little Pink Things

  3. Pingback: What I’m Going to Miss About My Neighbourhood: #7 Le Croissant | Pretty Little Pink Things

  4. Pingback: What I’m Going to Miss About My Neighbourhood: #6 St. Boniface Post Office | Pretty Little Pink Things

  5. Pingback: What I’m Going to Miss About My Neighbourhood: #5 St. Boniface Library | Pretty Little Pink Things

  6. Pingback: What I’m Going to Miss About My Neighbourhood: #4 Elm Tree Canopies | Pretty Little Pink Things

Penny for your thoughts...

