Top 10 Tuesday : Books You’d Like to See Made Into a Movie

Top 10 Tuesday is a book meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Check them out and join us!

This weeks theme is Top 10 Books you’d like to see made into a movie. This was actually really difficult because there were so many books I love that have already been made into movies.

All book cover images from Goodreads

1. Madame Tussaud by Michelle Moran: This has shown up on many lists so I apologize for the repetition. I think the unique story with the set design and costume of revolutionary era France would be perfection.

2. Through Black Spruce by Joseph Boyden: I’d love to see this on the big screen because it’s not a story usually told. This book has two different points of view. The first is from an old bush pilot in a coma in Northern Ontario. The second is his niece Annie whose been all over trying to find out where her missing sister Suzanne is.

3. Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella: This might be my favourite Sophie Kinsella novel. I find it so laugh out loud funny. I’d love to see this as a movie but let’s face it. They pretty much ruined Confessions of a Shopaholic when they brought that to a screen. I still like that movie but it’s nowhere near as good as the book was.

4. The Prairie Bridesmaid by Daria Salamon: The main reason I added this book to the list is because it’s local. However, it’s a bit dark and I’m really not sure how it would work as a movie but it’d be interesting to see a movie adaptation.

5. Busy Woman Seeks Wife by Annie Sanders: I found the premise of this book so cute and I like the gender role reversal of it. I think society in general puts way too much emphasis on gender role expectations.

6. Jemima J by Jane Green: I really miss the Brit based books that Jane Green used to write. Now it’s all about Conneticut. Out of all of Jane Green’s earlier novels I think Jemima J would be the best one to translate to a screenplay because of the kind of transformation that Jemima goes through. Her dream scenario that she ends up living isn’t the most realistic setting but somehow you believe it.

7. The Postmistress by Sarah Blake: Although this wasn’t my favourite book (I rated it 3 stars), I think the plot would lend itself well to a screenplay. It might be one of those rare cases where the film is able to add things visually that just don’t come across in the book.

8.  Before I Go to Sleep by S. J. Watson: This would be such a great movie but I’m not sure how it would work without being able to read her diary entries.

9. The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt: Such an interesting story. There’s a lot of internal dialogue with the main character but I think it could be translated to film. There’s a lot of violence and physical hardship which would work really well.

10.  Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese: The plot of this book is the most interesting story. I love the story of how the twin boys come into the world and how they end up making their way through it. It’s very compelling. 

Join me on Goodreads!

What books would you like to see made into a movie?

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday : Books You’d Like to See Made Into a Movie

  1. I agree with you about the Shopaholic movie; totally butchered the whole thing. =[ Can You Keep a Secret? and Twenties Girl would both make great movies! Some books that come to mind include The Solitaire Mystery by Jostein Gaarder, The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz and A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.

    • Yes I completely agree about Twenties Girl! I thought it was so cute. I haven’t read A Thousand Splendid Suns yet but I love The Kite Runner.

Penny for your thoughts...

