Pretty Things: The Fabergé Egg

Happy Easter everyone!

Ever since I was young, I remember hearing about Faberge eggs. I knew they were fancy, expensive and that was about it. It wasn’t until I recently read Nicholas and Alexandra by Robert K. Massie, that I realized how incredibly intricate these eggs were. Massie spent a bit of time detailing these eggs so that you really understood how much work went into creating them. I was so disappointed when I read that some of these Imperial eggs were still missing. However, it’s also surprising that any of the eggs survived considering that the Romanovs did not. The tradition of gifting the Tsarina with an bejeweled egg for Easter began with Tsar Alexander III in 1885. After his death in 1894, his son Tsar Nicholas II continued the tradition.

The Rose Trellis egg. Photo from wiki.

Even though I thought I knew about Faberge eggs, as soon as I read about them in the book, I had to go online and google. I looked at these bejeweled eggs through new eyes. Eyes that now know their history and significance. I have to admit I get a bit caught up in the romanticism of these eggs. I imagine the amount of time and energy that they took to create them (sometimes over a year!), the amount of love they poured into each egg and how much they must have looked forward to receiving them at Easter. Fortunately for us, many of the eggs are on display at the Kremlin Armoury in Russia and various other museums around the world. Russia has been on my dream travel list forever. I can’t wait to see them in person. Also, I really can’t recommend Massie’s Nicholas & Alexandra enough particularly if you’re interested in Russian history. He does such a terrific job of covering all angels as well as mentioning the links to other monarchies. Sometimes, it’s easy to forget that they really are all related in some way or another. The book was so well written that I still gasped at the assassination even though it was hardly a surprise.

The Romanov Tercentenary egg. Photo from wiki.

If you’re interested in the history of Faberge eggs, I found this on youtube:

 How are you celebrating Easter or Passover this year? Do you have a favourite Faberge egg or have you seen them in person?

Penny for your thoughts...

