Pretty Things: March Luxebox!

Hello lovelies!

I hope you’re all able to enjoy the long weekend! Here is the latest from Luxebox:

I should give you an update on last month’s Luxebox goodies. After using the Dermalogica daily microfoliant for a few days in a row, I noticed my skin was very soft & smooth. It was also incredibly gentle on my skin. Generally, after exfoliating (which I love!), my skin feels tight and dry. This product exfoliated without the dryness. I still have a lot left but I’m very tempted to pick up a full size when it’s done. I’m also really interested in sampling other products in the Dermalogica line. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.

Also, I LOVE LOVE LOVE Chi’s Silk Infusion. I have medium length hair and it’s quite thick yet I still have some of the Silk Infusion sample left. A little goes such a long way and my hair feels so silky afterwards. I would prefer to use a biodegradable product so if you have any recommendations, please send them my way. 🙂

Here’s what I received in March’s Luxebox:
DSC01657

Sorry for the bad lighting in the photo. It’s a very cloudy day.  Here we go from left to right:

Laura Mercier Perfecting Water – Rich
Full size : 200 mL ($47)
Sample size: 10 mL
This is a hydrating fluid which is something I’ve never tried before. I have to say I’m curious. I’ve never tried anything by Laura Mercier but I know they’re expensive and cruelty-free so I’ll give it a go!

Cheeky Monkey Nail Polish in I Like it On Top
Full size: $15
Another full size nail polish! These boxes are spoiling me. I was initially disappointed that it was only a top coat. Because I still have a full size OPI top coat that I’ve barely touched while trying to finish up a China Glaze top coat as well. I have to say that I really like this product! China Glaze’s  topcoat dries really quickly but if I use it as a base coat as well, the entire nail will peel off within a day. With Cheeky Monkey, my nail polish has staying power. Cheeky Monkey is cruelty-free.

JR Watkins Hand & Body Lotion
Full size: 325 mL ($10)
Sample size: 29 mL
My first response was  “really? Watkins?”. To me, Watkins is the door to door sales man like Amway or Avon. That’s not to say they aren’t terrific products, just not something I expect to find in a luxe box. I loved the lavendar smell of the product but I really don’t use any hand creams. My hands are really sensitive so I stay away from anything with scent. I did love the packaging though. It reminds me of an old fashioned apothecary and Watkins products are cruelty-free. I might have to check them out the next time I’m at Shoppers Drug Mart.

Redkin Color Extend Shampoo & Conditioner Samples
Full size: 300 mL ($15) Shampoo; 250 mL ($17) Conditioner
Sample size: 3 packets of 10 mL of both
I know that people love Redkin products but I have to admit I avoid them because they’re not cruelty-free. There are so many fantastic cruelty-free shampoos & conditioners that I really don’t feel like I’m missing out.

Bonus: They also sent a really lovely card mentioning that it was Luxebox’s one year anniversary. The card itself is made of seeded paper. You just plant and watch it grow! How lovely is that? I’ve seen it used for wedding invites and I think it’s such a charming way to celebrate any occasion. I will plant it and let you know how it goes!

Overall: I really can’t decide which box I like better Luxebox or Glymm. A friend of mine got her first Luxebox this month and was horribly disappointed. I was shocked when she told me what she received as it was a bit of a different box than mine. Also, she had signed up for the a specific sample by Cargo that was offered through a Luxebox email yet it was missing from her box. It really ruined the experience for her

If you’d like to sign up for luxe box, visit them here.

Do you subscribe to Luxebox? What did you get in yours? Which is your favourite beauty box?

2 thoughts on “Pretty Things: March Luxebox!

  1. I still can’t decide if I want to try one of these or not! I hope this box becomes available in canada soon since it features eco brands http://consciousbox.com/ I find well.ca has an amazing assortment of natural products that I have found just lovely:)

    • I haven’t heard of that box but I agree. I really wish we had something like that in Canada! I signed up for an Eco Emi box from the states which is similar. I only got it for one month because it’s about $30 which is really expensive for a box. I think I’m going to ditch the Glymm & Luxebox after April. They were ok for me because I don’t spend a lot of money on beauty products in general. I’m going to check out well.ca!

Penny for your thoughts...

