Top 10 Tuesday : Books to Read in a Day

Top 10 Tuesday is my new favourite meme. It really gets you thinking about the books you’ve read and want to read. I also love scouring the lists other bloggers have posted and adding their recommendations to my goodreads. To participate in Top 10 Tuesdays, check out The Broke and the Bookish.


Images from Goodreads

Here are my Top 10 Books to Read in a Day:

1. I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella: It’s a typical Sophie offering. Lots of fun and banter. I have a tendancy to devour all her books in one sitting.

2. A Visit from The Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan: This Pulitzer prize winning book follows the lives of a various members from a band from their time together in the 80s through to the present. Using different points of view, we’re able to follow their individual lives and see themselves through the eyes of each other.

3. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky: I haven’t read this book in years that I kind of forget what it’s about. I know I loved it but I think it’s time for a reread.

4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: If you haven’t read this book by now, you probably won’t. I will say though,  that it’s incredibly addictive and I completely understand why it’s started a craze.

5. Tell it to the Trees by Anita Rau Badami: I found this book in the library’s Express Bestseller shelf. I had never heard of it or it’s author but once I started reading it I could stop! Such an engrossing thriller and the ending is quite unexpected.

6. Sweet Valley Confidential by Francine Pascal: Disclaimer – This book is awful. However, if you’ve ever read the Sweet Valley High books you will enjoy it. It was a quick read (a few hours tops) and made me laugh at how ridiculous the writing was. I enjoyed catching up with the Sweet Valley gang though if only for a brief period of time.

7. One for the Money by Janet Evanovich: The book that started it all! One for the Money is the first of the Stephanie Plum books and by far it’s grittiest. To be honest, the characters and the plots have become more and more reductive (thanks Madonna for bringing reductive back) and it’s a bit dissappointing to read the newer books in the series. However, I recommend reading the first couple of books in the series at least. This one in particular had me up all night reading it and then I was unable to sleep because I was so scared!

8. Goodbye Jimmy Choo by Annie Sanders: I really enjoyed this book. It seemed different from other Chick Lit. It was a little more centred on the main female character’s sense of self than chasing after a man.

9. The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger: The ultimate teen angst classic.

10. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen: A rainy day, a cup of tea and snuggling up under a cozy blanket is the perfect setting for reading this book. The ultimate romantic classic. Prepare to swoon.

Join me on Goodreads!

What books would you recommend to read in a day?

 

8 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday : Books to Read in a Day

  1. Hey Lesley!
    I couldn’t find an e-mail address for you… so I’ll post it here, haha:

    You won the giveaway that I hosted on my blog for free ad space! Okay, everyone who entered did, but still! I’m going to be doing a blog sponsor post soon, so I’d love to get a few things from ya:

    – a blog button that is 140×140
    – an image that is 640px × 426px of you or your blog/whateva
    – two random facts about yourself
    – one of your favourite books
    – any links of yours that you would like me to link to in the blog post!

    And let me know if you would be interested in doing a giveaway (it could be of anything!) on my blog this month! Hope you’re having a fabulous day!

    Cheers,
    Holly
    (my e-mail is hollcrawford@gmail.com!)

Penny for your thoughts...

