Top 10 Tuesday : Books I’d Play Hooky With

I first saw this meme today on Casee Marie’s page and thought I’d join in. I’ve been wanting to include more book posts here and this is the perfect excuse. To participate in Top 10 Tuesdays, check out The Broke and the Bookish.


Images from Goodreads

1. A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin: I chose this because I’m 3/4 of the way through and all I wanted to do today was stay and read it. I’ll probably be up until 2 am tonight finishing. I’m dying to see where this goes. I think pretty much any book in this series would work. I will probably mention this again and again but I really appreciate the strength of the female characters in this series. In many instances they are more interesting than their male counterparts.

2. The Little House Books by Laura Ingalls Wilder: I’m fairly certain I did pull a sicky or two to stay home and read these books when I was younger. I might have to do it again. I’m not sure why I found pioneer life to be so romantic but I still do. Let’s face it though, I think living in a sod house might be something best left to the imagination. On The Banks of Plum Creek is my favourite.

3. Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell: I love the movie and yet have never read the book. It’s been on my list to read for ages. It’s the perfect excuse to get on with it.

4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: One of my favourites and one of the few relatively recent reads that I’d like to read again. It’s the kind of book that will make you take pause and reflect.

5. Anything by Jackie Collins: I love the whole Lucky Santangelo series so probably something from that. Each of the stories are so naughtily delicious that you would totally call in sick if a new book showed up in the mail.

6. Travel Guide to Italy: I love reading travel guides before I take off somewhere. They always fill me with so many ideas and I get so excited!! I pretty much memorize the books before I get ther but there’s still so much to discover when you finally reach your destination.

7. Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella: I read this on my flight back from London when it first came out. I finished it in the 6 hours it took and had to cover my mouth to silence the laughter. I’m really due to read it again. If only I could find my copy.

8. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy: Ok. This makes me sound like a complete nerd. I just love taking a full day to luxuriate in a long saga. It’s the kind of book you need to read slowly in order to get the full effect.

9. Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook by Martha Stewart: My favourite cookbook. A day off is the perfect excuse to try something new.

10. Project Life – Scrapbook: Seems like a bit of a stretch but I’d love to get a Project Life kit. To take the full day to fill it up with all the things I’ve done and loved in the past year would be a treat.

Join me on Goodreads!

That’s it for me! What book would you play hooky with?

7 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday : Books I’d Play Hooky With

  1. Unfortunately for me, college has sucked out any joy in reading (at the moment). But I definitely have some of the same books on my wish list to read. I just probably won’t start until the summer.

  2. Ahh, love that you took this up and your choices are all fab! The Little House books were my mom’s favorites; I was actually recently going through all of our books and I found an old copy of Laura’s letters, I think, that my dad had given to my mom before they were married. So cute.

    Gone with the Wind was probably the first classic I read, and it’s just amazing. Rhett Butler was my first literary crush, haha. The Book Thief, Can You Keep a Secret? and Anna Karenina are all on my shelves waiting to be read! I feel like a slouch for not having read Anna Karenina yet!

Penny for your thoughts...

