Happy Belated St. Patrick’s Day! My 5 Favourite Bits of Ireland

I’ve been so out of it for the last week or so. I’ve been stressed out about various things and when I’m stressed, I kind of shut down and hide away.  I even started grinding my teeth again which is awesome! Fortunately, everything has been sorted out for now. 🙂

Here’s a post I meant to create on St. Paddy’s Day! I’ve been fortunate to visit Ireland twice. The first time was during my nine week European backpacking trip in 2003. Yikes! That’s a long time ago! During that trip I spent the weekend in Dublin. The second trip was a couple of years back to visit a friend who moved to Galway for the year. I spent two weeks on the western side of Ireland and I absolutely loved it. Ireland is such a magical place I’m sure everyone who visits falls under its spell.

I apologize as this is likely to be a long post.

My 5 Favourite Bits of Ireland:

1. Aran Islands
I only visited the Aran Islands during a day trip but if I had an endless supply of time and money I’d definitely spend several days exploring the islands. I only ventured onto Inishmore and it was as though this bit of Ireland was stuck in time. Just beautiful. To find out more about the Aran Islands, visit their website.

Here’s a view from Dún Aonghasa. I have to admit I was afraid to blow off.
DSC00531

From within Dún Aonghasa
DSC00527

Other shots of Inishmore
DSC00535
DSC00536

Leprechaun house! You have no idea how much this made the trip for me. On Inishmore, a lot of the homes had these mini leprechaun houses. Apparently they bring good luck but I imagine that it could also be for the tourists. Either way, how cute! I’ll so be building one when I buy a home.

DSC00546

2. Once
Everything about this movie is perfection. It’s the perfect thing to watch while you’re having a lazy day in with a mug of tea. This song is perfection.

3. The Claddagh
Both the place and the ring. I’ve wanted a Claddagh ring ever since Angel gave it to Buffy in the nineties. So when I found myself in Galway, I had to get one. Of course, now people like to tell me that the Sister Wives use them. 😦
DSC00288

4. Connemara
Such gorgeous landscapes!
DSC00485

5. Galway Girl by Sharon Shannon & Steve Earl.
Not exactly Irish but I heard it everywhere when I was over there. I’m sure every band in every pub has to play it.

More photos can be found on Flickr.

Have you ever been to Ireland? What did you love? If you haven’t been and want to go, what would you like to see?  I haven’t been to Northern Ireland yet but I’d love to go particularly for Giant’s Causeway.

7 thoughts on “Happy Belated St. Patrick’s Day! My 5 Favourite Bits of Ireland

  1. Pingback: Celebrating St. Paddy’s Day with my favourite Irish writers! | Pretty Little Pink Things

Penny for your thoughts...

