Pretty Things: My first Glymm box!

Hello lovelies!

I actually received my first Glymm box the day after my first Luxebox but posting them back to back seemed a little too samesy. Glymm is a similar beauty box like Glossy Box, Birchbox, etc. Here’s what I received in my February Glymm. As a reader, I felt that my Luxebox review was too wordy. I was trying to give a lot of info but honestly, nobody cares about that. lol. Well, at least I don’t think they do. So I’m going to try to be a bit more brief with this.
gbox1
I have to say I really like the physical quality of these boxes. They’re so lovely and I can’t wait to find reasons to reuse them. Perfect to have on hand for gift wrapping.
Here are the items:
gbox3
At the back:
Mai Couture : 2-1 Oil Blotting/Bronzing Papier
Sample size: 2 sheets
Full size: 100 sheets / $24.
My thoughts: I have not used this yet but I do like the idea of it. Honestly, I haven’t used blotting papers in years. I used to be so obsessed with the Body Shop’s Blotting papers in high school. I wonder if they still make those. Anyway, even if I did really enjoy these I don’t imagine I would spend the $24. That seems like a lot of money for something that used to cost me less than $5. Although I really like the idea of a bronzing/blotting paper. That makes a lot of sense although if I recall correctly, the Body Shop had a powdered variety already.

On the far right:
Glamglow: Tingling and Exfoliating Mud Mask
Sample size: 7 mL
Full size: 50 mL ($78)
My thoughts: Again, I haven’t tried this yet but I’m very excited about it since it’s such an expensive product. Included in the box this month was a coupon to receive the full jar for $50 which I think is a great incentive. I’m more likely to spend more money on a mask that you’d use once a week (or bimonthly) because it would last longer. However, it expires on March 12 so considering I only received the box a week ago that doesn’t seem like a lot of time especially for a more expensive product.

In the middle:
gbox9gbox10
Burt’s Bees: Tinted Lip Balm (award winner) in Rose
Sample size = Full size!! ($7.99)
My thoughts: First off, the packaging is ridiculous. It’s just so excessive for an $8 lipbalm. It’s not exactly fragile. So I did find that a bit much.
gbox8
However, the tint is a really pretty colour and would be nice to have on hand in your purse. I have to confess that I’m really attached to my all-time favourite lip balm (Lip Service by LUSH). I feel that the more traditional lip balms (this one included) is a little too waxy and dries out my lips. However, I really appreciate the fact that they included a full size product. I know a lot of people love Burt Bees so I’m sure I can give this to someone who’ll love it.

Finally, we have Sula: Paint & Peel nail polish in Champagne Coral.
gbox4
Sample size = Full size!! ($9)
My thoughts: I was really excited for this when I opened the box. It’s such a pretty colour and it’s a colour I don’t already have which is even better. I was a little excited about the peel off aspect of it too because I used to have a peel off nail polish when I was 5 so I thought it’d be cute. Well….first impressions is that it’s a really thin nail polish that comes off as streaky. Even applying it very carefully will leave streaks (with and without a basecoat I tried both) and it has a lot of bubbles. I also found that the colour after it dried was not the same as in the bottle. The good news is that it dries quickly and comes off easily with remover. It does peel off but it’s a lot easier than regular polish to remove so I don’t think I would risk damaging my nails just to peel it. It did stay rather well. I was worried it would come off in the shower but it did not. I will wear this polish again but I’m not sure I’d buy another one if they were all so streaky.
gbox5

Well, that’s it for this month’s Glymm. I still really enjoyed receiving it. Even though I was disappointed in a couple of the products, I wasn’t disappointed in the box if that makes sense. I was also really excited that all this month’s products (from what I could gather) were cruelty-free which makes my day.

Did you receive a Glymm box this month? Please link me to your review so I can check out what you got!

One thought on “Pretty Things: My first Glymm box!

  1. I felt the same way about the burts bees tinted balm {I gave mine to my friend} the shades look very similar on so no need to buy multiple shades of it like I did… the polish is quite lovely as well. Always been tempted by those boxes glad they now include canada just can’t decide which one I want.

Penny for your thoughts...

