Tribute : Sandbox Magazine

Sandbox cover
Sidebar: I totally want that bunny in my life.

Nearly two years ago, I was in McNally Robinson checking out magazines and came across Sandbox for the first time. I was drawn to the magazine right away but it was only when I read the cover that I realized it was a local Winnipeg mag. Naturally, I flipped through it briefly and decided to purchase it right away. I’m a big believer in supporting Canadian Magazines because it’s only recently that we have quite a few to choose from. Currently, I subscribe to four (LouLou, Flare, Maclean’s & Elle Canada). I’m always afraid that if I don’t renew my subscription, they might stop producing it! However, they really never focus on Winnipeg or the Prairies in general. Well, that’s a whole other story. Back to Sandbox!

When I got home and took the time to read it from cover to cover I was completely besotted. Not only were they covering what I already love about Winnipeg, they were also covering things I knew absolutely nothing about. The people and places that aren’t generally covered by our mainstream media. I loved it. I also loved seeing the people I know featured in the magazine. Why not? Winnipeg is a very interesting and vibrant city with secret gems that even those of us who live here don’t always know about. Plus, the photography, design and styling is flawless. I was always so impressed by their issues. To me, they were never just a fantastic local magazine, they were a fantastic magazine full stop. I mean, just check out some photos from the final issue:

sandbox2sandbox3
Gorgeous!

Anyway, recently the Sandbox crew announced that they would be retiring the magazine as it is known and amagalmating it with already established publications and companies. Of course, I was sad but I’m still excited that Sandbox will be staying around in any capacity. Winnipeg is such an interesting and diverse community and it’s so great to see our creativity on display in a different way.

Adieu Sandbox and Congratulations on such a fabulous run!

13 thoughts on “Tribute : Sandbox Magazine

  1. My dear,
    I found your blog by chance, while peeking others and I decided to check it out! I’m glad I did it, because I am really delighted with yours. It’s beautiful, well structured, interesting, sweet amazing [probably your own qualities right?] and it has completely got me hooked. I think we’re going to get along just fine! 😉
    I’d like to invite you to follow each other. I’d be very pleased.
    I wish you lots of success and will surely come back often
    kisses

    http://cottoncandy-peaches@blogspot.com/

  2. Love this post! Winnipeg is so diverse and interesting… small in some ways… but big in others!!! I hear rumors of a new up and coming mag…. too!

  3. I just went and got my issue last week and was going to do a MUST buy post if you live in winnipeg as well:P The last issue killed it I love how they went back to the roots of the first issue and spotlighted local peoplein such a lovely way. Looking forward to what ever new comes out of this.

  4. Thank you, Lesley, for your kind words and for sharing the same passion we have for our beautiful prairie home. Winnipeg is an amazing place, and we were lucky to be able to celebrate its diversity for the past two years. I am so happy that you stumbled into our sandbox and followed our journey, and honoured for this lovely post. All the best.
    -Jeffrey Vallis, Former Editor-in-Chief, SANDBOX

Penny for your thoughts...

