Ready for the Weekend : January 27 edition

This was such an intense week for meetings. I was running out to a meeting or running back from one to join an online webinar. One meeting went past 10 pm at night. I don’t think I recovered from that at all. Story of my life. I’m really looking forward to an easy, breezy weekend. Here’s what I’m up to for the next couple of days:

1. A Midwinter’s Dream Fashion Show
I’ve been offered a ticket through work and I’m really excited about it. I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’ t heard of this event before but it’s only its second year.  I’m a big fan of Hair FX so I can’t wait to see what they come up with. Plus, I’m really excited about the swag bag. I’ll be hitting up the mall tomorrow to find something “sparkling dress attire” appropriate. It’s always great to have the opportunity to support such a worthwhile cause in a fun and fabulous way.

2.  Pining for Beauty Boxes
While reading UK beauty blogs, I get so jealous of all the beauty box options. When I first heard of them, I googled like crazy to find Canadian options and I couldn’t find any. A few months later, I found one through a LouLou magazine email. I signed up immediately, thinking it was the only option and then I found out there were lots to choose from including my dream beauty box – Glossybox. I’m so excited. I’ve signed up for 3 (I would have done 4 but Topbox is full at the moment. 😦  ). It’s a bit ridiculous but for $10 a month, it’s hard not to at least try it out. I don’t imagine I’ll keep them all but I’d like to try it out anyway. I’m actually a perfect candidate for these boxes because I’m really picky. I won’t buy beauty products that aren’t cruelty-free or that come in recyclable packaging. I also don’t buy any soap/shampoo that isn’t biodegradable. It’s so hard to find products that meet my requirements but when I find them, I stick with them! I’m very loyal. If the products don’t have enough for me to choose from, I’ll cancel but for now, I’m super excited.

Here’s what I’ve subscribed to:

You can check out youtube for reviews of the first two boxes. However, Glossybox is brand new in Canada and won’t be shipping until March. Very exciting to be part of the initial launch.

3. Reading Clash of Kings
The Song of Fire & Ice series continues!

4.  Knitting
The blanket isn’t going to knit itself. 🙂

5. Enjoying my new David’s Tea purchases:


Kanpe (herbal) is on top and smells so divine. Kind of like that really tangy filling in jelly doughnuts. FYI – all money from the sales of this tea go to KANPE. Organic North African Mint (green tea) is on the bottom.

What are your plans for the weekend? Any sparkling dress attire suggestions?


Penny for your thoughts...

