Tribute: Cary Grant

Happy Birthday to one of my all-time favourites – Cary Grant!


Smoking is bad I know but he looks so dashing here. Smoking only really looks sexy pre-1980 I think.

I love Cary Grant’s timeless style and sass. It’s kind of sad to say but the romantic comedies of the 1930s and 40s come across as smart and original instead of the hot mess of cliches that Hollywood favours today. Take The Bachelor & The Bobby-Soxer for instance. When was the last time we saw a rom com that had a female judge as a lead? I honestly can’t recall if it’s happened since.

His Girl Friday just might be my favourite Cary Grant movie.

Could we talk about old Hollywood’s movie trailers? I just love them! They just seem to make the movie better.

Let’s not forget his legendary Hitchcock roles. This scene in North by Northwest gave me such a phobia of crop dusters.

There is too much beauty in To Catch a Thief. It’s like I have to look away periodically to ensure I’m not completely overwhelmed.

Ok. I have to stop before I just start listing ever movie he’s ever made. lol I’m such a Cary Grant fan. I’d still like to mention The Philadelphia Story, Charade and An Affair to Remember. Oh my God. An Affair to Remember renders me a huge mess every time. Just like they depict in Sleepless in Seattle.

What’s your favourite Cary Grant movie? Alternatively, what are some of your favourite Old Hollywood movie trailers? I live for them! Please send them to me. 🙂

Penny for your thoughts...

