Music Monday: Do They Know It’s Christmas? – Band Aid

Do They Know It’s Christmas? is one of my all time favourite songs. There’s not a single time that I’ve heard it that I haven’t thought of the meaning behind it and the reason the song was written in the first place. It reminds me how one person can fuse their passion with a purpose and change the world. Is it a bit sappy? Yes, but you know what I love the most about it? The unbridled joy and optimism you feel when you hear that song. “Feed the World” is not just a chorus. It’s a mission statement and a call to action. It is incredibly powerful. I always feel so inspired after hearing it as though I can do anything and I can make a difference.

The song goes hand in hand with one of my favourite quotes from A Christmas Carol which I’ve recently re-read for book club:

“I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year.” –  Ebenezer Scrooge

Let us never forget the message behind the song: “Feed the world. Let them know it’s Christmastime.” 

On a completely shallow note, I love this video for the vintage Boy George, Simon Le Bon and George Michael. I love them still.

Help feed the world. Donate to your local food bank, soup kitchen or charity of choice. As someone who works in non-profit, trust me when I say every cent counts. While we’re at it, why not download the song?

What songs inspire you? I’d love to hear them!

8 thoughts on “Music Monday: Do They Know It’s Christmas? – Band Aid

  1. First time I heard this but loved it! Music to me is more a mood-bringer for my stories and an inspiration for new ones, mostly; so hard to say! But cheerful ones always boost my mood and give me joy when I’m feeling terrible. x

Penny for your thoughts...

