Pretty Eats: Banff

I can’t believe I haven’t posted this yet! I’m so behind!! Unlike Kelowna, Banff is very familiar to me. For 4 years (on and off), I lived in the neighbouring village of Lake Louise. It’s about 30 minutes away. Hereafter, anytime I refer to “living in the woods”, this is what I mean. Banff is incredibly popular and often, I would just drive past Banff to get to the more non-touristy Canmore or Calgary.

Here’s some tips from a local:

Best Coffee: Evelyn’s Coffee hands down. It’s not hard to find one, there’s 3 locations in Banff and two are on the same street (Banff Ave). Great coffees and atmosphere. There is a Starbucks on Banff Ave as well if you’re wanting that but for a classic latte or cappuccino, Evelyn’s is superior. I love Starbucks but let’s face it, they’re not really known for their espresso. There is also a Tim Hortons in Banff as well. BIG NEWS FOR ME! I used to drive to Canmore if  I got a timmies craving. Now one is located a little out of the way, in the Brewter Bus Station.

Best Breakfast: Wild Flour Bakery Cafe
Their breakfast menu isn’t the longest but it doesn’t need to be. For something quick and delicious, look no further. They make all their own breads and all coffee is organic and fair trade. What’s not to love? Check out my latte and breakfast sandwich. Yum! I wish I could click my fingers and make it reappear!
DSC01282

I should note that of course the Best Breakfast / Brunch of all time would be at the Banff Springs Hotel. However, if you hit up that buffet, you better not make any plans. It will destroy you…in a good way! 😉

Best Snack:  Beavertails!

This is also a new place since I lived in the woods. We don’t even have beavertails in Winnipeg anymore. I so miss them! Don’t worry! It’s not an actual beaver’s tail. Just a fabulous pastry with some cinnamon and sugar.

DSC01267

Best Dinner: Nourish

This was a fantastic surprise for me! Nourish is a fairly new vegetarian restaurant that just opened up in the Bear Street Mall. I told my friends that just because I’m a vegetarian, doesn’t mean we have to eat at a vegetarian restaurant but they were so excited. It turns out that anytime anyone visits them in Banff, they take them to Nourish. It’s just that good. At Nourish, everything is served Tapas style so be prepared to share!

First up, nachos! But these are unlike any nachos I’ve ever seen. There are over 27 toppings! I would never have thought to throw strawberries on nachos but they did and it works! Sorry for the fuzzy photos! It was so dark in there.
DSC01275

King Kong Noodles – The overwhelming favourite:
DSC01277

Shepherd’s Pie: I really have to get on making a veggie version this Fall. I really miss it!
DSC01281

I have to admit that I didn’t just eat! I also, went for a 3 hour hike for a better look at the Banff Springs and the falls! Hurray for me. What a great way to spend the day in the rain. 🙂
DSC01283DSC01290
DSC01292

Ok. Now I’m seriously hungry.

2 thoughts on “Pretty Eats: Banff

Penny for your thoughts...

