Pretty Eats: Kelowna

I’m finally getting around to posting about my holiday. It was fantastic! I absolutely love eating out in the Rockies. Local restaurants in the mountains generally put a lot of emphasis on local & sustainable eats. Yums all around! My first stop was Kelowna. What a gorgeous city! Incredible. I would move there in an instant if it wasn’t so completely expensive! I spent a lot of time enjoying the gorgeous mountain views Unfortunately, I did not see Ogopogo, but I did find some fantastic places to eat.

Here’s my recommendations for the next time you find yourself in Kelowna:

For Breakfast:
Without a doubt, it’s the Bohemian Cafe & Catering Co. Everything is fresh and delicious. The decor is eclectic and interesting. It’s exactly what you’d expect a bohemian cafe to be like. I had the eggs florentine which was amazing. I hear their pancakes are terrific as well. For some reason their website is down but I’ll link for when it’s back up.

For Coffee:
Bliss Bakery is a gorgeous little bakery in Peachland right on Okanagan Lake. The cookies are delicious! It’s the perfect place to stop while out shopping.

For Dinner:
If you’re going to treat yourself, you have to go all out. The last night I was there, my friend & I headed to RauDz. RauDz stresses fresh and local foods. I just have to say everything was absolutely delicious.

Look! I took photos!

DSC01244

The way to my heart is through a fabulously made cocktail and this blackberry martini was just the ticket! RauDz makes all their own fruit syrups for their cocktails. Definitely worth the effort!

I neglected to take photos of the appetizers but we tried the bruschetta & the poutine. My friend also got the appetizer special which was coconut shrimp. 5 stars all around!

The main event:
DSC01245

I can’t stress enough how delicious this pasta was. There are no words. I think I will forever be trying to recreate this dish. There is nothing like fresh pasta, is there?

Desserts:

DSC01248DSC01246

The next time I go (I’ve already invited myself back), I’m hoping to go a little later in the summer when the fruit is ripe. I’m also hoping to hit up some wineries. My friends’ daughter is just 3 months old so not the most appropriate outing.

Do you have any recommendations for what to check out in Kelowna? Let me know! I’ll check them out next summer!

Penny for your thoughts...

