Pretty Eats: Saskatoon Berry & Raspberry Pie!

Last Saturday, I ventured to the St. Norbert’s Farmers’ Market in search of Saskatoon berries. It’s a bit late in the game for Saskatoons but I was pretty certain I’d find some. I just always seem to be out of town for berry season. Why is that? Fast forward a few days and I knew I’d better do something with them quick. Hence, the pie.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Saskatoon berries, they are similar to blueberries but they’re a little more tart. I thought that adding raspberries would sweeten it just enough to take off the edge without losing it completely.

I couldn’t find my usual pie crust recipe around but I found this similar one by Smitten Kitchen. I’m really a stickler for butter only pie crusts. I just find the best crusts are made with butter but obviously, you can use whichever recipe works best for you.

 

DSC01310

Filling Recipe:

4 cups berries (I did 2 cups of each)

3/4 cup sugar

2 tbsp lemon juice

2 tsp flour

2 tbsp butter

1. Mix berries

DSC01300

2. Add sugar, flour and lemon juice

DSC01302

You can tell how ripe the raspberries are, they basically melted with one stir!

3. Prepare pie shell

DSC01304

4. Add berries to shell and add butter.

DSC01306

5. Cover with top pie shell.

DSC01307

6. Bake in the oven at 365F for an hour. Be sure to cover the top crust for the majority of the time so it doesn’t get too brown. Remove when golden.

DSC01308

Voila! Generally, pie recipes tend to call for a higher temperature (I find that anyway), but my oven gets hot really fast since it’s old and small so this is what I did. Adjust for what would work best for you. I could have let it bake longer to get the top a little more golden but I was running late and had to run out to a friend’s fundraiser.

Any other berry combinations you can recommend? Perhaps something with rhubarb that isn’t strawberry? I have a pile of rhubarb in the backyard and I hate for it to go to waste.

5 thoughts on “Pretty Eats: Saskatoon Berry & Raspberry Pie!

Penny for your thoughts...

