Out & About: Blind Date at MTC

Hi all,

Tonight I went with my mom to see Blind Date, a play that’s currently running at MTC’s Warehouse theatre. It is super cute and really very funny. The premise is this: Mimi, a single girl is waiting for her blind date to show up. When he doesn’t, she scours the audience looking for a replacement blind date. The intro of the audience member to the play and to the audience is really well done. I have to admit, I did feel really anxious for the guy. He played his part really well! I thought it could’ve have ended earlier. It’s about 90 minutes with no intermission.
Photo credit: MTC

I don’t think you could really have an intermission for this kind of thing but I thought that the guy needed a break! Cutting it by 15-30 minutes would’ve kept it on a high. It was tremendously funny and the concept worked incredibly well. It’s only playing for a few more days, so if you have a chance, go check it out! I’m sure it’s different every night because there’d me a new “date” and a new way to flow the conversation. We really have to hand it to the guys who go oup there. It gets pretty randy up there but they (and their girlfriends!) are such good sports.

In other news, I won a sponsorship on Holly Knitlightly’s blog for the month of April. Yay! Holly has been gracious enough to allow me to do a giveaway of beauty products on her blog. Holly’s a ferocious knitter and is constantly knitting up blankets to donate. Such an inspiration! To enter the giveaway, click here.

Penny for your thoughts...

